New NWT mayors, councils to be sworn in this week

Yellowknife’s 15th mayor, Rebecca Alty, will be sworn in on Monday alongside the city’s new council.

Stacie Smith, Cynthia Mufandaedza, and Robin Williams will take their seats as city councillors for the first time at Monday lunchtime’s ceremony.

They are joined by returning councillors Niels Konge, Steve Payne, Shauna Morgan, Rommel Silverio, and Julian Morse.


In Fort Smith, Mayor Lynn Napier-Buckley will be sworn in for a second term on Monday evening at 7pm.

Mayor Kandis Jameson, acclaimed in Hay River, and her council will be sworn in on Tuesday at 6:30pm.

Norman Wells also swears in its new mayor, Frank Pope, and council on Tuesday, while Mayor-Elect Natasha Kulikowski told Cabin Radio Inuvik’s swearing-in ceremony is scheduled for November 14.

No information on the swearing-in of Fort Simpson’s council was immediately available.

Meanwhile, nine more NWT communities are preparing for their municipal elections on December 10.


Elections are to be held next month in Aklavik, Enterprise, Fort McPherson, Fort Providence, Fort Resolution, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok.