YK’s Jeff Seabrook named to outstanding principals list

A handout image of Yellowknife school principal Jeff Seabrook
A handout image of Yellowknife school principal Jeff Seabrook.

École William McDonald Middle School’s Jeff Seabrook has been named to the 2019 list of Canadian Outstanding Principals.

Seabrook has been teaching with the YK1 school board for more than two decades.

He appears in a list of 30 principals, selected from schools across Canada, published by public education charity The Learning Partnership on Tuesday.

The list of outstanding principals, compiled annually, reserves one berth for an NWT principal on each year’s roster. In 2013, two of the territory’s principals – Lois Philipp and Dan Summers – were selected.



Seabrook follows in the footsteps of the late Kate Powell, who was named to the 2018 list as principal of Fort Resolution’s Deninu School before passing away later that year.

He receives a trip to Toronto for the charity’s awards ceremony on February 26, alongside a place on a week-long executive leadership training program at the University of Toronto.