Folk on the Rocks announces first acts for 2019 festival

Wintersleep and Lido Pimienta are among the first performers confirmed for the 2019 Folk on the Rocks music festival in Yellowknife.

Juno Award-winning Wintersleep, from Halifax, will arrive in the NWT on the back of their seventh studio album, In The Land Of, which is released next week.

Colombian-Canadian singer-songwriter Lido Pimienta won the 2017 Polaris Music Prize with her album, La Papessa.


Joining them in Folk on the Rocks’ first lineup reveal of 2019 are Yellowknife’s own Juno winner Leela Gilday, fellow Yellowknifers Pit!, and Indigenous hip-hop group Snotty Nose Rez Kids.

Also confirmed are Nap Eyes, Soda Pony, The Sweeties, Riit, Yes We Mystic, and French-Canadian band Claude Cormier – whose attendance is sponsored by the Association Franco-culturelle de Yellowknife (AFCY).

Meanwhile, Cabin Radio returns for a second year at the heart of Folk on the Rocks.

The Cabin Stage, which hosted Quantum Tangle and William Prince in 2018, will be back for summer 2019 – and Cabin Radio will once again broadcast full, live coverage from the Cabin Stage, Main Stage, and Beer Garden Stage throughout the festival weekend.

The partnership between Cabin Radio and Folk on the Rocks ensures the Cabin Stage and live broadcast coverage of the festival will feature until at least the end of 2021, and hopefully long after.


Folk on the Rocks will announce more acts soon in a series of lineup reveals. Early bird tickets remain available, priced at $75 for an adult day pass or $120 for an adult weekend pass, among other options.