La Force, Alex Cuba announced for 2019 Folk on the Rocks

Last modified: April 5, 2019 at 10:20am

Folk on the Rocks revealed La Force and Alex Cuba among a second wave of acts announced for the summer 2019 festival in Yellowknife.

Thirteen more acts were added on Friday to a bill already featuring Wintersleep and Lido Pimienta.

Among the second set of confirmed performers are Zaki Ibrahim, Nêhiyawak, Wares, Micah Erenberg, Orkestar Kriminal, and Ansley Simpson.


You Look Nice, Ryan McNally and The MessaRounders, Ginalina, Looelle, and Frosty Children’s Theatre rounded off the announcement.

La Force is Broken Social Scene member Ariel Engle’s solo project, described as “nocturnal electronic pop.”

Alex Cuba is a Cuban-Canadian singer-songwriter who has twice won Juno awards for world music album of the year.

Fellow Juno winners Wintersleep, from Halifax, were confirmed for 2019’s Folk on the Rocks in March alongside Colombian-Canadian performer Lido Pimienta.

Leela Gilday and Pit! are also in this year’s lineup.


A third wave of confirmed acts is still to be announced.

The Cabin Stage, which hosted Quantum Tangle and William Prince in 2018, will be back for summer 2019 – and Cabin Radio will once again broadcast full, live coverage from the Cabin Stage, Main Stage, and Beer Garden Stage throughout the festival weekend.

Early bird tickets remain available, priced at $75 for an adult day pass or $120 for an adult weekend pass, among other options.