In Kakisa, all candidates in First Nation election acclaimed

Ka’a’gee Tu First Nation held an election on July 18 – and everyone ran unopposed, leading to a series of acclamations.

Incumbent Lloyd Chicot was acclaimed as chief, while Henri Landry, Jeremy Simba, Phillip G Simba, and Wayne Simba were acclaimed as the new councillors.

None of the previous councillors – Nora Simba, Terry Simba, Melaine Simba, and Sheila Chicot – ran in this election.


Elections for the Kakisa Lake District Education Council were held at the same time. Anita Chicot, Jeremy Simba, and Phillip G Simba, and Terry Simba were acclaimed into the four positions.