Folk on the Rocks reveals first acts confirmed for 2018 festival

Stars and The Weather Station are among the first acts confirmed by Folk on the Rocks for this summer’s music festival in Yellowknife.

Festival organizers published an opening list of nine acts on Friday morning, including Yellowknife’s own Quantum Tangle, winners of last year’s Juno award for Indigenous album of the year.

Toronto group Stars, formed in 2000, released their eighth studio album last year and are described by Folk on the Rocks as “long-time Canadian indie darlings.” They are joined by The Weather Station, a folk act fronted by Tamara Lindeman, who are nominated alongside northern artists The Jerry Cans for the contemporary roots album award at 2018’s Junos


Also announced on Friday are Weaves​, ​The Courtneys​, ​Hillsburn​, Cris Derksen​, ​Leanne Goose​, and Fiver.

This is the first of three line-up announcements for this year’s festival, which runs from July 20-22. Early-bird tickets are already on sale.

Cabin Radio is proud to be partnering with Folk on the Rocks throughout 2018. Stay tuned for another major announcement next week!