Folk on the Rocks makes last big 2018 line-up announcement

Whitehorse, the band
Whitehorse, the band. Whitehorse/Facebook

Folk on the Rocks released its third and final line-up announcement on Friday morning, essentially completing the roster for 2018’s festival.

In a move certain to confuse tourists, Juno award-winning folk roots duo Whitehorse will come to Yellowknife.

Whitehorse features husband-and-wife duo Luke Doucet and Melissa McClelland, from Hamilton, Ontario (just to further complicate matters). Their second album was shortlisted for the 2013 Polaris Music Prize, while their third album won 2016’s Juno for Adult Alternative Album of the Year.

Also featuring in Friday’s announcement are BC’s Twin Peaks, aka Lindsay Pratt and Naomi Shore; Toronto folk-noir songwriter Abigail Lapell; and Francophone singer-songwriter Klô Pelgag.



Local acts confirmed on Friday include Ororo Mohawk, the YK Dene Drummers, and Bella Dance Academy. The NWT Creative Collective is confirmed to host a second annual showcase of rising young talent, and FOTR will also feature workshops hosted by the Aurora Fiddle Society, children’s entertainment from Peekaboo Kazoo, and yoga sessions with Taiga Yoga.

Festival organizers had already made two major line-up announcements, here and here.

Cabin Radio is your Folk on the Rocks station this summer. The Cabin Stage makes its first appearance at the festival, we’ll broadcast live coverage throughout the weekend, and weekly Folk on the Rocks shows begin on our network in mid-April.