Nominations open for position of Dene National Chief

Last modified: May 11, 2018 at 5:29am

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text]Friday is the first day on which nominations can be put forward for the position of Dene National Chief, to be elected in July.

The Dene National Chief also serves as the NWT’s regional chief for the Assembly of First Nations.

Incumbent Bill Erasmus, first elected to the position in 1987 and one of the territory’s longest-serving chiefs, has already stated he will not seek re-election.


“My name will not be on the ballot,” Erasmus told a meeting of Dene leaders in Fort Providence in February.

Nominations open at 9am on Friday and close a month later, on Monday, June 11 at 5pm.

The election itself will be held on July 11 at the Dene National Assembly, which is being hosted by the West Point First Nation outside Hay River.

If you’d like more information about the election or nominations process, contact election officer Lynda Comerford by email or on (867) 873-4746.[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]