Fort Good Hope elects new chief

Daniel Masuzumi is the new chief of Fort Good Hope.

According to staff at the charter community’s office, Masuzumi was elected with 166 votes in the election, which began Monday at 10am.

Election officials were hard at work until the early hours of Tuesday to tally ballots.


The new chief takes over from Wilfred McNeely Jr, who received 88 votes.

A nine-member council will join Masuzumi as the new leadership of Fort Good Hope.

The newly elected councillors are Dwayne Barnaby, George Barnaby, Roger Boniface, Jacinta Grandjambe, Charles McNeely, Rose McNeely, Stella Rabisca, Arthur Tobac and Joseph Tobac.