NWT’s Team Stroeder edged out for Travelers curling bronze

Last modified: November 25, 2018 at 9:58am

The Northwest Territories’ Team Stroeder narrowly missed taking bronze at the 2018 Travelers Curling Club Championship on Saturday, losing 5-4 to Ontario.

But the team did not leave empty-handed – Sarah Stroeder, the skip, was selected as the women’s division’s Most Valuable Player by Curling Canada’s umpires.

“What an amazing week. We felt the love from near and far. The support meant the world to us,” Stroeder posted to Facebook on Saturday afternoon.


NWT curlers from both the men’s and women’s division took home sportsmanship awards: Anneli Jokela, Stroeder’s team-mate and team lead, was selected by her peers to receive the award, as was Devon Bouillon, second on the men’s team.

One sportsmanship award is awarded to each position in the men’s and women’s divisions.

Rounding out the fourth-place Yellowknife Curling Club team is Alanah Jansen, third, and Marie-Claude Savoie, second.

The men’s Team McLeod, also from Yellowknife Curling Club, comprises skip Shadrach McLeod, third Steve Robertson, second Devon Bouillon, lead Rob Koehler, and coach Sharon Cormier.

The team was winless in its six games in Pool B.


Both teams competed from November 19-24 in Miramichi, New Brunswick.

This is the third time a women’s team from the Northwest Territories has reached the final four at this event, following semi-final appearances in both 2012 and 2014.

The Travelers Club Championship is an annual tournament which sees the top teams from each provincial and territorial local club championship compete alongside a team from Northern Ontario.

Team Alberta women and Team British Columbia men took home this year’s titles.