Support from northerners like you keeps our journalism alive. Sign up here.



Jane Weyallon Armstrong wins Monfwi MLA by-election

Jane Weyallon, president of the Native Women's Association of the NWT
Jane Weyallon, president of the Native Women's Association of the NWT. Meaghan Brackenbury/Cabin Radio

Jane Weyallon Armstrong has won the Monfwi MLA by-election, according to initial unofficial results from Elections NWT.

The preliminary results show Weyallon Armstrong from Behchokǫ̀ winning with a total of 503 votes in her favour.

“I am pleased to welcome the member-elect to the assembly and look forward to working with them for the benefit of all our people,” Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Frederick Blake said. “Mahsi to all candidates for putting their names forward and participating in the democratic process.”

Four candidates put their name forward to run for the position after Jackson Lafferty, who held the position for the last 16 years, resigned from his position in June. He’s expected to run for Grand Chief of the Tłı̨chǫ Government.



Kelvin Kotchilea came in second with 252 votes, John J Gon garnered 98 votes, and James Wah-Shee received 71 votes.

In her platform, Weyallon Armstrong said she wanted to focus on bringing housing and social issues to the fore during the two years remaining until the next territorial election. She also stressed she plans to stay in her community and will commute to Yellowknife.

Weyallon Armstrong is currently the president of the Native Women’s Association of the NWT and a councillor in Behchokǫ̀. She has also worked as a guidance and career counsellor with the Tłı̨chǫ Community Services Agency.

Weyallon Armstrong will be officially sworn in on August 5 in the chamber of the Legislative Assembly.