Full results from NWT communities’ December elections

Last modified: December 11, 2018 at 2:39pm

Fort McPherson, Fort Providence, Fort Resolution, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, and Ulukhaktok took to the polls on Monday night to vote in new councils.

In Aklavik, Enterprise, and Tuktoyaktuk, hamlet councillors were acclaimed.

In total, 72 people put their names forward for five mayoral positions and 41 councillor positions.


Meanwhile, a liquor plebiscite took place in Fort McPherson.

On this page, find details of results from each of the communities.

In Fort Resolution, a recount will take place on Tuesday afternoon as the results are close. As it stands, results have Angela McKay, Elizabeth Ann McKay, and Brandie Miersch being elected to the three councillor positions in the community for two-year terms.

William R Koe is the new mayor in Fort McPherson, joining elected councillors Joyce M Blake, Shaylene Blake, Sierra Daley, Lawrence Firth, Robert Greenland, Ruby McDonald, Ashtyn McLeod, and Dennis Wright.

The mayor and four of the councillors will serve two-year terms, while the other four councillors will serve one-year terms.


In the community’s liquor plebiscite, the final vote was 165 ‘yes’ votes to 65 ‘no’ votes.

The plebiscite asked residents whether they supported removing the community’s restrictions relating to beer and wine. Approval means the community must now apply for the territory to formally lift those measures.

The result also approves a provision whereby a person authorized by Fort McPherson’s council can bring in spirits in excess of the currently prescribed maximum for use at weddings, community events, or special occasions.

In Fort Providence, Danny Beaulieu received twice as many votes as the runner-up for the mayoral seat.


Ronald Bonnetrouge, Linda Croft, James Ben Bonnetrouge, and Shirley Gargan were elected to the four councillor positions in the hamlet.

Paulatuk returned incumbent Ray Ruben as mayor.

“I want to thank everybody for your support and trust. I will strive to work with council and our people to further develop our community,” wrote Ruben on Facebook.

He highlighted some of council’s priorities over the next few years: training a local for the senior administrative officer position, construction work on community roads, and naming the community’s assets.

The four councillors for the hamlet will be Donna Ruben, Kelley Ruben, Michael Green, and Millie Thrasher.

Both the Fort Providence and Paulatuk councils will serve a three-year term.

Up in Sachs Harbour, Floyd Lennie nabbed the mayor’s seat with 27 votes, more than double the amount the other candidate received.

The three councillors set to be acclaimed include Norman Anikina, Mariah Lucas, and Kyle Wolki.

And in Ulukhaktok, Laverna Klengenberg was the only female mayor elected in this year’s hamlet elections, receiving 106 votes to the runner-up’s 24.

Ulukhaktok’s new hamlet council is comprised of Annie Goose, Margaret Kanayok, Sadie Joss, and David Kuptana. The mayor and councillors will hold their seats for two years.

In Aklavik, the five acclaimed candidates are Deon Arey, Fredrick Arey, Dorothy Erigaktoak, Jordan McLeod, and Richard Storr Sr. Four of the councillors will sit for two-year terms, while Erigaktoak will be on council for a one-year term.

Down in Enterprise, a similar situation unfolded when nominations closed and it was realized the four candidates – Barbara Louise Hart, Daniel Jordan Harley, Craig McMaster, and Bruce Proud – would be acclaimed to the four available hamlet councillor seats. Proud will serve a one-year term while the other candidates will be in for two years.

And in Tuktoyaktuk, Jackie Jacobson, Cindy Legrow, Shawn Lundrigan, Joe Nasogaluak, Deborah Raddi, and Ryan Yakeleya were acclaimed. Two of the councillors, who have yet to be determined, will serve one-year terms, and the other four seats will serve two-year terms.