Aklavik, Enterprise, Fort McPherson, Fort Providence, Fort Resolution, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok will each hold municipal elections on December 10.

Between the nine hamlets, there are two women and 10 men running for mayor.

Looking at hamlet councillor positions, there are 59 candidates in total. Forty-one percent of them are women.

Advertisement. Story continues below

Here’s the list of who’s running – and who’s acclaimed.


Candidates for councillor (5 positions)

Deon Arey

Fredrick Arey

Dorothy Erigaktoak (1-year term)

Advertisement. Story continues below

Jordan McLeod

Richard Storr Sr

As there are five hamlet councillor positions and only five people were nominated, all candidates will be acclaimed.


Candidates for councillor (4 positions)

Barbara Louise Hart

Daniel Jordan Harley

Craig McMaster

Bruce Proud (1-year term)

All four candidates in Enterprise will also be acclaimed.

Fort McPherson

Candidates for mayor

William R Koe

Vasilios (Bill) Prodromidis

Candidates for councillor (8 positions)

Joyce M Blake

Shaylene Blake

Sierra Daley

Lawrence Firth

Robert Greenland

John W Itsi

William R Koe

Ruby McDonald

Ashtyn McLeod

Dennis Wright

Fort Providence

Candidates for mayor

Danny Beaulieu

Samuel Gargan

Bernadette Landry

Rudolph Landry

Candidates for councillor (4 positions)

James Ben Bonnetrouge

Ronald Bonnetrouge

Rosemary Bonnetrouge

Sophie Bonnetrouge

Peter Canadien

Victor Constant

Linda Croft

Shirley Gargan

Pearl Leishman

Wayne Sanderson

Fort Resolution

Candidates for councillor (3 positions)

Arthur Beck

Chrissy Lafferty

Sharon Lafferty

Angela McKay

Elizabeth Ann McKay

Brandie Miersch

Wilfred Simon


Candidates for mayor

Angus Green

Ray Ruben Sr

Candidates for councillor (4 positions)

Jermaine Green

Michael Green

Donna Ruben

Kelly Ruben

Ruben Ruben Sr

Susan Ruben

Millie Thrasher

Sachs Harbour

Candidates for mayor

Norman Anikina

Floyd Lennie

Candidates for councillor (3 positions)

Norman Anikina

Lukas Mariah

Kyle Wolki

All three Sachs Harbour councillor candidates will be acclaimed.


Candidates for councillor (6 positions)

Jackie Jacobson

Cindy Legrow

Shawn Lundrigan

Joe Nasogaluak

Deborah Raddi

Ryan Yakeleya

With six positions on hamlet council and six candidates, all of the above will be acclaimed.


Candidates for mayor

Jack Akhiatak

Laverna Klengenberg

Candidates for councillor (4 positions)

Jean Ekpakohak

Daniel Gallant

Annie Goose

Sadie Joss

Margaret Kanayok

Mary Kudlak

David Kuptana

Drive our independent, northern journalism. Become a Cabin Radio patron from $1/month