Candidate lists released for NWT hamlet elections

Lists of candidates have been released for upcoming Northwest Territories municipal elections on December 13.

Votes are scheduled in Aklavik, Enterprise, Fort Liard, Fort McPherson, Fort Providence, Fort Resolution, Paulatuk, Sachs Harbour, Tuktoyaktuk, and Ulukhaktok according to the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs’ website.

Hamlets are holding full or partial elections depending on their bylaws.


The Hamlet of Fort Providence says two candidates are running for mayor: incumbent Danny Beaulieu and Shirley Gargan.

There are nine people running for four councillor positions.

In Enterprise, Michael St Amour is acclaimed as mayor position. St Amour took over after the hamlet’s previous mayor stepped down in the summer.

An extension of the nomination period has been announced for councillor positions until 3pm on November 22.  

Fort Resolution has two candidates running for mayor, Brandie Miersch and Patrick Simon. There are 12 individuals vying for council.


Fort Liard has extended its nomination period for mayor and councillor positions until 3pm on November 22, stating a lack of candidates for either position.

Paulatuk’s results have already been determined – all positions are acclaimed. Ray Ruben will remain the mayor of the hamlet as he ran unopposed. Four candidates will fill the four available positions on council.

In Ulukhaktok, an election will determine four council positions this year. Eight people are running for those seats.

Information for Aklavik, Fort McPherson, Sachs Harbour, and Tuktoyaktuk was not available at the time of writing.