Election results announced for eight NWT communities

Results have been announced for municipal elections held on Monday in eight Northwest Territories communities, alongside a separate vote regarding community arena upgrades in Fort McPherson.

In Fort Resolution, Patrick Simon will become the new mayor after defeating incumbent Louis Balsillie by 128 votes to 103. In Enterprise, just one vote separated Brandon Kimble from his nearest challenger as he was declared mayor of the community.

In Fort Liard, only three votes separated the two candidates for mayor as Hillary Deneron defeated Mike Gonet by 71 votes to 68.


Results were provided by the NWT government’s Department of Municipal and Community Affairs, which oversees the territory’s municipal elections.

In other mayoral races: Andrew Charlie beat Robert Buckle in Aklavik, Norman Anikina beat Kyle Wolki in Sachs Harbour, and Erwin Elias was acclaimed in Tuktoyaktuk.

Ulukhaktok had no mayoral election but a strong field for council positions. Sarah Kuptana, Kimberly Joss, Denise Okheena, Mary K Okheena, and Delma Klengenberg were elected from an almost entirely female pool of 12 candidates.

Fort McPherson residents resoundingly approved a plan to seek a $1.5-million loan for upgrades to the community arena, voting ‘yes’ by 89 votes to 13.

In full: View all December 9, 2019 election results