Chief April Martel, unopposed, set to remain leader of KFN

April Martel is set to remain Chief of the Kátł’odeeche First Nation. Nominations for the community’s upcoming election closed on Saturday with Martel unopposed on the ballot.

The Kátł’odeeche First Nation will hold its election on November 2 from 9am until 7pm at the Chief Lamalice Complex.

People nominated for one of six councillor positions include Rebecca Aylward, Andy Cardinal, Irene Graham, Robert Lamalice, Shirley Lamalice, Pat Martel, Peter Sabourin, Joyce Studney, Michael Sunrise, and Aaron Tambour.


Nomination lists for municipal elections happening in five communities on October 18 were released on Monday afternoon. Fort Simpson’s Sean Whelly, Norman Wells’ Frank Pope, and Hay River’s Kandis Jameson are all unopposed in seeking re-election as mayor.

Fort Smith has two candidates for the position. Inuvik extended its nomination period until September 27, seeking more nominees.