Support from northerners like you keeps our journalism alive. Sign up here.



Joe McBryan and Lyda Fuller named to Order of NWT

Lyda Fuller and Joe McBryan
Lyda Fuller and Joe McBryan.

This year’s recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories will be pilot “Buffalo Joe” McBryan and advocate for women and families Lyda Fuller.

The nomination of McBryan and Fuller was announced on Thursday.

The Order of the NWT, established six years ago, “recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the NWT or elsewhere.”

It is the highest honour the NWT awards to its residents.



The council which evaluates nominations said McBryan – who has spent his week hosting a 15-year-old Make-A-Wish Foundation participant from California – has “has helped families in need, provided sports teams and schools discounted fares, and assisted Elders when they were short on airfare.”

YWCA NWT executive director Fuller, the council said, “is an advocate for services and programs that increase the safety for women and families throughout the North.

“Both Mr McBryan and Mrs Fuller inspire northerners to expand our horizons and give back to our communities,” the council concluded.

According to the legislature’s website, the council’s members – evaluating nominations for the award – are Danny Gaudet, Sabrina Broadhead, and Anne Peters.

Last year’s inductees were broadcaster Les Carpenter, Olympic skier Sharon Firth, and Indigenous language advocate Lillian Elias.

An induction ceremony for Fuller and McBryan will take place at the Legislative Assembly from 11am on Tuesday, August 20.